smash it

If you haven’t heard of Smash Books, I highly recommend looking into them.  They are basically scrapbooks for people who don’t want to spend a lot of time scrapbooking.  They are easy to use, and the best part is that you can’t mess them up.  Just put stuff in at random and it’ll come out looking cool, thanks to all the awesome paper inside.  I started one last year and finished it earlier this year.  This is the completed one (I used a bunch of Sharpies to color the front):

IMG_4500

And here is a pic of the one I’m working on now with some of my supplies:

IMG_4495

The main things you need to start this process are just pens, markers, scissors, and glue.  I get my books from Amazon.  Searching for ‘Smash Book’ will pull up all the different kinds of Smash Books along with extra supplies like the little smash pads in the top right of the picture.  Everything is reasonably priced, and each book has different themed paper inside.  Here are some pics of the inside of my current Smash Book.

IMG_4496

IMG_4497

IMG_4498

IMG_4499

Most of this is just cutouts from magazines.  I also used quite a few of the smash pad pages in these layouts.  I’ve also put in ticket stubs, broshures of places we’ve been, menus, pictures, fabrics, etc.  Sometimes if I’m putting something in that’s a bit bulkier I just use a stapler instead of glue or tape.  Stickers and washi tape are always useful for any empty spaces.  And of course the scrapbooking aisle at Target or Hobby Lobby has tons of stuff.   If you need inspiration just consult the blogosphere for ideas.  I liked this idea from Carissa Graham, so cool.

Smash books are great because it’s a way to file away all those random little things you keep and have no idea what to do with.  I was going to end this post with a super corny, get smashing!, but that seems a little over the top.  How about…don’t trash it, smash it! or smash it up people!…okay I’m done.

4 thoughts on “smash it

  1. Pingback: more smash booking | fixed on the unseen

  2. Pingback: smash book update | fixed on the unseen

  3. Pingback: smash book update 2.20 | fixed on the unseen

  4. Pingback: happy mother’s day | fixed on the unseen

Leave a Reply

