smells and sounds of fall

I’ve found that having good music and candles makes a huge difference in enhancing the atmosphere at home.  So I thought I’d do a post that lists all my favorite fall music and candle scents (fresh baked cookies are the best, but if you’re short on time candles do the trick).

Music is completely personal preference, but I’ve found that the following albums work for most settings (nothing too crazy).

Thanksgiving, A Windham Hill Collection:  Just do it

thanksgiving

Alison Krauss & Union Station, New Favorite:  bluegrass awesomeness

Alisonkrauss_Newfavorite_a

Gregory Alan Isakov, The Weatherman:  This is his latest album, but his older stuff is great too

GregoryAlanIsakov-TheWeatherman

Sarah Jarosz, Follow Me Down:  She has since come out with a new album, but I’m not positive if I like it as much as this one

sarah-jarosz-follow-me-down

John Mayer, Paradise Valley: ‘Paper Doll’ is my favorite

john-mayer-paradise-valley

Brandi Carlile, Bear Creek:  And all her other albums, I’m a big fan

Brandi-Carlile-Bear-Creek

Moving on to candles.  I’m no candle snob so I get mine at a fine store called Walmart.  I get the Mainstay brand, they may not last forever but they smell great, and I just can’t be convinced that a candle is worth $20.  Here are my top 3 scents for the fall, hazelnut cream being my fav.

1.  Hazelnut Cream

2.  Pumpkin Spice

3.  Mulled Cider

Nothing innovative here, but it’s the little things that can make a big difference.

Leave a Reply

