thankful tree

I got this idea from the Simply Vintagegirl blog.  I loved it because it was easy to do and it has a nice sentiment.  I did mine a little different so here is a short tutorial.

I got my supplies from Hobby Lobby.  The jar was originally $20, but I used their 40% coupon so it ended up being $12.  The ribbon was a couple bucks.

IMG_4519

It’s been raining a bunch around here lately and we were worried that we’d have a hard time finding some dry sticks for this project, so we sprung for a faux stick, $7.

IMG_4523

We chose a few different colors of paper (we mimicked autumn leaf colors of course), but printed paper would be cool too.

IMG_4524

Then we used a votive candle holder to trace circles and then cut them out.  A hole punch was used for the holes (duh).

IMG_4527

To complete the project we wrote things we are thankful for on the circles, put them on our faux stick, and voila! a thankful tree.

IMG_4529

I was a little premature with this project, since Halloween isn’t even over yet, but I couldn’t resist.  Right now the tree looks a bit Charlie Brownish.  Mike likes it that way, but I’m thinking we may add some more circles later.  And before I end this post, here is a picture of Mike being weird at Hobby Lobby and spelling out my name.

IMG_4516

I love him. 🙂

One thought on “thankful tree

  1. Pingback: it’s that time of year | fixed on the unseen

Leave a Reply

