give thanks banner

I guess I’ve just been feeling thankful lately!  So I decided to make one of those burlap banners for our fireplace, to say ‘give thanks’.  They are everywhere on Pinterest, and I wasn’t sure how to execute the project, but what I came up with worked great and was super easy.

First I made a triangle on Microsoft Word, I played around with the size until I settled on one.  I cut the triangle out and traced it onto the burlap, 11 times to be exact.  And then I cut out the triangles.  Notice that the top part of my triangles looks cut off and that’s because I wanted to know where I should fold over the top (see next step).

IMG_4533

I then went to my sewing machine and pinned down the top of one of my triangles (at the slanted top edge) and sewed a straight line across to form a pouch for the twine to go through.

IMG_4534

After that I went ahead and fed the twine through all of the buntings with this twine.  It’s very thin.

IMG_4538

Then I found a font I liked, it was this one, and printed out the letters I needed onto cardstock.  I played around with the size of the font to make sure it’d work.  The cardstock I used was very similar in color to the burlap.

IMG_4535

Next I cut out the letters and used rubber cement to adhere them to the burlap.  Technically the letters could be pried off, but I’m not too worried about it.  And here is the finished project!

IMG_4543

IMG_4545

IMG_4652

IMG_4654

Pretty easy!

5 thoughts on “give thanks banner

  1. Sam – love all your crafty ideas and I can’t help but think of Grandma Helen – she would be right in the big middle of all your projects. Unfortunately, the “craft gene” totally skipped me, but it’s so much fun to see all the neat things you are doing and realize how talented you are.
    . Love you, Granny Deem

  2. Pingback: metallic pumpkins | fixed on the unseen

Leave a Reply

