meal planning

I’m back from my 12 day hiatus for Thanksgiving.  And on the top of the list today was to go grocery shopping in preparation for a massive winter strom that could very well not happen, better safe than sorry.  So I thought I’d take this opportunity to do a post on how I meal plan.

First of all I’m a big fan of using all your groceries up before buying more.  At the end of the week it’s typical for us to have only condiments, spices, and baking indgredients…yum.  But even after shopping the fridge never gets too crowded.  Here is picture of our fridge after shopping for the week.  Besides ingredients for the meals below, I try to stock up on lots of fruits and veggies.

IMG_3058

This is how I break it down.

Breakfast – cereal and oatmeal.  I don’t cook in the morning.  Maybe some pancakes, waffles, or an omlette on the weekends but that’s it.  However I adore cereal, if you are looking for some healthy ones my go-tos are Oatmeal Squares Brown Sugar and Grape-nuts Fit and Honey Bunches of Oat with Vanilla Bunches.

Lunch – fruit, yogurt, granola bar, sandwich/wrap/leftovers

Dinner – I’ll do a post some other time of standard dinners that I make and they all meet the following requirments, minimal ingredients and minimal time needed to make them.  But for today’s post I’ll just show you the recipes I intend to make for this week.

Avocado Chicken Salad from Becoming Betty

chicken salad

Slower Cooker Chicken & Dumplings from Polish the Stars

chicken and dumplings

Tomato Basil Parmesan Soup from Random Thoughts and Thrills

tomato basil

Other food we’ll have for dinners this week, salad (spinach, corn, black beans, green pepper, tomato), grilled cheese and tomato soup, and queso and chips (to balance out our meals).

I’m also planning on making these bad boys.  Buckeyes from Katrina’s Kitchen.

buckeyes

Aaand now I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

