it’s that time of year

It’s our first year as homeowners therefore decorating for Christmas was pretty exciting.  We don’t have a bunch of stuff, but I think it turned out okay for our 1st year here.  Take a look.

IMG_4893

IMG_4894

I was going to be crafty and make our own wreath, but I saw this at Hobby Lobby for 1/2 off and thought, naaah this’ll work.

IMG_4874

IMG_4877

IMG_4878

The trees on the table are hand-me-downs and the glassware and ornaments are all from Hobby Lobby.  Not exactly what I would want here in the future, but it works for this year.

IMG_4880

Mom started a tradition growing up where we did a Christmas puzzle every year and then she had it framed.  This one is from 2008.  Mike and I had just started dating and worked on this one together.

IMG_4869

IMG_4872

I was looking for card holders but this way saves some money.  It’s 2-1/2 yards of pom-poms and mini clothespins.  I just tacked it up onto the shelf.  Next year I may hang it up on a wall.

IMG_4881

Hand-me-down Santa figurine and seasonal Scentsy from Mom in the kitchen.

IMG_4882

Christmas towels!

IMG_4891

Poinsettia!

IMG_4862

I used our thankful tree and added some ornaments and it became a Christmas tree, easy enough.  The print in the black frame Mom got me from an antique store.  The frame is from Hobby Lobby (as you can see I’m a big advocate of Hobby Lobby).

IMG_4883

IMG_4884

IMG_4864

IMG_4865

The mantel isn’t exactly what I envisioned, but again, for our 1st year having a fireplace this works.  The ceramic ornaments are from Kirklands, the trees are from Hobby Lobby, and the adorable stocking hanger is from Mom.  I don’t have any stockings up yet because I’ve decided to make them myself, wish me luck!

IMG_4892

IMG_4866

IMG_4885

Over in the corner with the tree is this awesome star Santa (hand-me-down) and Christmas pillow from Kohls.

IMG_4886

IMG_4890

On the console behind the sofa is our manger and mini tree.  The ornaments on the mini tree are handmade or sentimental.

IMG_4898

In the guest room I have these guys to liven up the place.

And here are a couple pictures of the tree at night.

IMG_4843

IMG_4848

We have a handful of random ornaments in there along with some blue, white, and silver ornaments from Hobby Lobby.  I also use silver beads wrapped around the tree along with some white berries spread out sporadically.

And that’s it folks, thanks for stopping by!

3 thoughts on “it’s that time of year

  1. I try not to comment often, but….you have no idea how it warmed my heart and brought a tear or two to my eye to see a few things that were “familiar” from days gone by (some very familiar from MANY days gone by!!) It’s so nice to see Christmas decorations passed down from one generation to another — and to know the receiving generation still values some of that! Your home is gorgeous this first Christmas! Blessings to you and your hubby.

  2. Loved the fact you used lots of blue in your decorations – it all looks so pretty and I know you’ll have fun with it every year changing and adding. You won’t be like Granny Deem and use the same stuff every year!!! Love you!

Leave a Reply

