how to create a gallery wall

Gallery walls are a great way to fill a big empty wall and add interest to your home.  Right now we have a very small “gallery” above a console table in our living room.

IMG_5980

IMG_5981

IMG_5984

Step 1 – First I ordered some prints, most of these are from Society 6.

Step 2 – I ordered frames to fit the prints from here.

Step 3 – Decide on a layout.  I wanted some balance so I made sure to put the smaller ones on the same side as the larger print, and went from there.

Step 4 – Decide on spacing.  Notice that the outside edges don’t all line up.  Instead I made sure that the spacing between all the frames was about equal.  It’s easiest to lay your frames on a bed or the ground to figure out how you want them to be configured first.

Step 5 – Hang them up!  I started with the larger one in the corner.  I like to put them up against the wall where I want them and then make a small mark with a pencil at the corner of the frame.  Then I measure the back of the frame from the corner to the middle of the hanger.  Then I can just use a ruler to measure over from my small pencil mark to mark where the nail should go.

IMG_5988

IMG_5990

IMG_5987

IMG_5986

IMG_5989

We have lots of room to grow on the wall we selected; it’ll be easy to add a couple every now and then.  Next I think we’ll do some DIY art so we’ll just need to buy some frames – easy and affordable!

Leave a Reply

