summer reading list revised

Early I wrote this post with books I intended to read this summer.  I wanted to give an update on some of these, so here it is.

Haven’t Read Yet – No Report

Bark by Lorrie Moore

Cementville by Paulette Livers

Cat’s Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut

Going To Skip

Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver – If you are a middle aged female biologist who loves romance novels, this is for you, if not, I’d skip it.  Mike read the first 30 pages or so and gave me a summary, not worth the read.

Read From List

East of Eden – Very long, but very good.  Give it 50 pages before the story line really picks up.

How Did You Get This Number – Pretty funny.  Kinda of a downer at parts.  Main character/author isn’t the most put together person in the world.

And The Mountains Echoed – Great story.  Tons of characters to keep straight.

Read And Not On List

never let me go

Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro – About a child at a private school in England.  A coming of age story.  Except there is a bunch of weird stuff going on and it’s science fiction.

black moon

Black Moon by Kenneth Calhoun – Another sci-fi (not typical for me).  Insomnia is claiming the lives of the entire population.  Very creepy, but a page turner.  It took me a couple days to read.

Currently Reading

Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison

My Favorite

The Sci-fi ones were fun, but read East of Eden.  It’s probably been my favorite.

Leave a Reply

