painting the bookcase

Painting the back of our built-in bookcase has been on my to-do list for a while, so I decided to knock it out yesterday.  The color I selected was Benjamin Moore, cobblestone path.  This color is a gray with a hint of blue.  I was planning on going even darker, like a navy, but I decided I didn’t want it to contrast too much with the white shelves.

Lucky for me Mike was able to help.  We did two coats and it took us 2 hours from start to finish.  If you paint periodically it probably wouldn’t take as long.  Mike used the roller while I cut-in.  I didn’t use tape instead I just watched this video and went for it.

Here is a shot of the shelf before any work:

IMG_7128

Here is a picture after the two coats, but with nothing on the shelf:

IMG_7131

And here is our final product:

IMG_7139

Turned out pretty good.  A little paint can definitely make a big difference.  For tips on bookcase styling click here.

2 thoughts on “painting the bookcase

Leave a Reply

